Hastings, MN:  Last winter across the globe, nearly 6,000 people of all ages took a beginner ski or snowboard lesson, in effort to participate in the “World’s Largest Lesson.” Due to a lack of proper evidence, the record still needs to be set in the Guinness Book of World Records.

The snow sports industry is going to try again on Friday, January 6, 2017 and, this time, will be joined by many Canadian resorts, via the Canadian Ski Council. All lessons will take place simultaneously in seven different time zones - 9 am Alaska time, 10 am Pacific time, 11 am Mountain time, 12 noon Central time, 1 pm Eastern time, 2 pm Atlantic time and 2:30 Newfoundland time. 

The following Midwest Ski Areas will participate by state, including:msaa images 2017a

Iowa

Seven Oaks    IA,

Ski Crescent   IA

Sundown Mountain  IA

Illinois

Chestnut Mountain Resort   IL

Snowstar        IL

Indiana

Paoli Peaks     IN

Perfect North IN

Michigan

Apple Mountain        MI

Boyne Highlands Resort       MI

Boyne Mountain Resort        MI

Cannonsburg MI

Crystal Mountain      MI

Nubs Nob       MI

Pine Mountain Golf & Ski Resort     MI

Shanty Creek Resorts           MI

Ski Norway Mountain           MI

Snow Snake Ski & Golf          MI

The Homestead Resort         MI

Timber Ridge Ski Area          MI

Treetops Resort         MI

Minnesota

Andes Tower Hills     MN

Detroit Mountain      MN

Giants Ridge   MN

Hyland Ski & Snowboard Area        MN

Lutsen            MN

Mount Kato    MN

Powder Ridge            MN

Spirit Mountain         MN

Missouri

Hidden Valley            MO

Snow Creek    MO

South Dakota

Great Bear Recreation Park SD

Wisconsin

Cascade Mountain    WI

Christie Mountain Snow Area          WI

Little Switzerland      WI

Mont Du Lac Ski Area           WI

Mt LaCrosse Ski Resort         WI

Nordic Mountain       WI

The Mountain Top at Grand Geneva          WI

Wilmot Mountain      WI

According to www.skiandsnowboardmonth.org, “this World Record event is brought to you by the organizers of the Learn to Ski and Snowboard Initiative, the National Ski Areas Association, Professional Ski Instructors of America, SnowSports Industries America and SNOW Operating.”

Join us Jan 6th or all season long.  Many resorts offer learn to ski programs throughout the winter.

  Discounted programs are found throughout the Midwest and can be accessed at snowplaces.com.

 

About the MSAA

The Midwest Ski Areas Association, Inc. (MSAA) is a non-profit trade association, which represents the interests of ski areas located in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.  The mission of the Midwest Ski Areas Association, Inc. is to represent the interests of the membership by providing resources that enhance the quality of service and product provided to the public, and to foster, stimulate and promote safety, education and growth in the industry.  For general information on the MSAA, please visit www.snowplaces.com.  For more information  visit  http://snowplaces.com

#  #  #

For additonal information or a spokesperson, please contact us.

Contact: Amy Reents

Executive Director/President

Midwest Ski Areas Association

651-436-5955

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

twitter.com/snowplaces  |  facebook.com/midwestski

About Us

The Midwest Ski Areas Association, Inc. (MSAA) is a non-profit trade association, which represents the interests of ski areas located in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.  The mission of the Midwest Ski Areas Association, Inc. is to represent the interests of the membership by providing resources that enhance the quality of service and product provided to the public, and to foster, stimulate and promote safety, education and growth in the industry.

Follow us on

Ski Brule Pic 351x235

lss logo sheet 2014

baf logo